My thought on: Kindle

kindle

I love books! I love the smell of them, the feel, the look of books on shelves, however I find it really difficult to pick just one book at a time especially when traveling + some books don’t fit in my bag which is a problem since I carry a book or a magazine with me at all times.

A couple of months ago I decided to buy a Kindle. At first I was undecided as I already had a smartphone and a tablet which I could read on by simply installing an app, but then I took the plunge and bought the Kindle Paperwhite 6″ with High Resolution, built in light and Wi-Fi. The main 2 features that really helped me decide were; the battery lifetime and the fact that it is readable in sunlight. This is the version I got although at the moment it is listed as not available.

I love it!!

I carry it with me all the time, it is so small, light and compact that it fits in most bags including clutches. I love the fact that I can carry multiple books at at time including pdfs. The battery lifetime is excellent, it lasts for weeks unless you read all day long. I went through a small period when I was reading for around 6-8 hours a dayΒ  and it lasted for nearly 1 week which is very unlikely on any other tablet.

It is very readable in sunlight, as good as, if not better than an actual book. Since it has built in light, it means that I can read in bed at night without having to switch on the light and it does not glare or omit light so it shouldn’t effect anyone sleeping next to you.

Since it has Wi-Fi connection, books can be purchased and downloaded instantly from amazon. It is also connected to good reads where you can rate books directly as well as accessing your profile if you have a good reads profile.

It also has an experimental browser which is very basic and I wouldn’t suggest using it for browsing.

Another thing I love is the built in dictionary. I can simply double click on a word from the text and it will pop up a dictionary with definitions, as well as the option to look for the word on wikipedia.

Text can be highlighted and notes can be added to the book just like you can in a physical book.

The only thing I don’t like is that it has no colour, so book covers and any images that might be in books such as biographies are all in gray scale. Other than that I love my kindly and I would recommend it to anyone who loves to read!!

 

Thank you for reading πŸ™‚ Let me know what you think in the comments below!

 

PS: This is not a sponsored post, I bought the kindly with my own money and these are my 100% honest opinions

